Model assessment · CRAFTSMAN

CRAFTSMAN 12V Portable Inflator CMXPTXA1202 review

A current US-listed 12V vehicle-accessory-socket inflator with a manufacturer-listed 10-foot cord, Presta adapter and ball needle. The exact page claims up to 150 PSI and 0–36 PSI in six minutes but does not give the test load or operating details needed to predict a tire fill.

Sources checked 2026-10-31 · Our editorial approach

Review the exact model, limitations and buying checks on BuyerShortlists before choosing a seller. We may earn from qualifying purchases.

CRAFTSMAN CMXPTXA1202 12V inflator with carry case and accessories shown
CRAFTSMAN manufacturer package reference image for CMXPTXA1202; confirm the exact retailer package contents. CRAFTSMAN manufacturer product image
A useful fit for

Consider the CMXPTXA1202 when a 12V vehicle socket is the intended power route and the manufacturer-listed 10-foot cord, Presta adapter or ball needle matches the task.

The main tradeoff

It is not documented as internally rechargeable or battery powered. Its 150-PSI maximum is not a target or fill-rate guarantee; the 0–36-PSI/6-minute claim has no tire-size/test conditions on the page. Automatic shutoff, control/display details, socket-current minimum, run/rest limits, chuck type and gauge tolerance remain unknown.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Is the CMXPTXA1202 a match when the required route is a 12V vehicle accessory socket?

Yes. The exact CRAFTSMAN page says it plugs into a vehicle 12V outlet and itemizes a 10-foot cigarette-lighter cord. The page does not state a minimum socket-current rating, so check the vehicle instructions and the specific outlet rather than assuming all sockets are suitable.

Explore this need in the finder →
What does the exact CMXPTXA1202 package page name for bicycle or sports-ball attachments?

The product page itemizes a Presta valve adapter and a ball needle, and its use copy names bikes and balls. It does not name a Schrader connection or tire-chuck style, nor does it give a bicycle pressure range or ball-specific accuracy tolerance. Confirm the actual valve and item-maker pressure before use.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the CMXPTXA1202 six-minute claim predict how quickly my car tire will inflate?

Not from the details on the reviewed page. CRAFTSMAN claims 0–36 PSI in six minutes but does not name a tire size, test conditions or load. Its separate 150-PSI maximum is a ceiling, not a car-tire target or speed result; use the vehicle placard/owner manual for cold pressure and compare fill claims only when the conditions match.

Explore this need in the finder →

The CRAFTSMAN CMXPTXA1202 is a corded 12V portable inflator sold with a vehicle-plug lead, carry bag and a small set of named attachments. The manufacturer’s current US page says it plugs into a vehicle’s 12V accessory outlet, advertises a maximum of 150 PSI and describes car tires, bikes and balls among its intended tasks. It is not the same arrangement as the nearby CMXPTXA1201: that other model has a rechargeable battery inside and a separate vehicle-power route, while the 1202 is documented as a 12V plug-in model. This assessment is based on the exact product page and the manufacturer’s image; no hands-on test or fill-time measurement was performed.

What the included kit actually establishes

The product page itemizes a 10-foot cigarette-lighter cord, extra fuse, carry bag, ball needle, Presta valve adapter and inflatable adapter. That makes the listed accessories unusually clear for a compact pump: the Presta fitting is relevant to a bicycle valve that needs that adapter, and the needle is a documented sports-ball attachment. The page does not name a Schrader connection or describe the tire chuck’s attachment mechanism, so a buyer should not infer either a specific valve standard or press-on/twist-on style from the words “12V inflator.” Check the actual hose end and the item’s valve before relying on it.

The 10-foot cord is a more useful reach fact than a vague “portable” label, though the page’s statement that it reaches all tires on most vehicles is a manufacturer claim rather than a measured fit for every vehicle. Route the cord without stretching or pinching it and check the actual outlet location. The current page does not state a minimum outlet-current rating in the reviewed material, so it cannot establish suitability for every accessory socket. The extra fuse is included, but neither that fact nor the max-pressure headline substitutes for checking the vehicle outlet or following the product instructions.

Separate a pressure ceiling from a fill-rate claim

CRAFTSMAN lists up to 150 PSI and also promotes pumping from 0 to 36 PSI in six minutes. Those are different kinds of numbers: 150 PSI is a maximum-pressure claim; the six-minute line is a speed claim with no named tire size, starting conditions, target, ambient temperature or test protocol in the reviewed page. It does not demonstrate that a car tire will take six minutes to inflate, and it should not be compared directly with another model’s test unless the loads and conditions match.

The source page does not explain whether the 1202 has a digital display, pressure preset, automatic stopping, a gauge tolerance, a maximum continuous run time or a cooling interval. The category listing and package details do not provide an exact operating manual. Those are unknowns, not evidence that every such feature is absent; the review therefore does not assign a preset-stop capability or recommend it for unattended inflation. Use the recommended cold tire pressure from the vehicle placard or owner manual, stay with the operating pump, and verify final pressure with an appropriate gauge if accuracy matters.

Useful for a defined 12V setup, not a universal compressor

The page describes use for tires, bikes, balls and inflatables, and the named Presta and ball accessories support two narrower use cases. But a product-page category claim does not supply a tire-size envelope or an item-specific pressure range. A bicycle with a Presta valve may need the included adapter; another bicycle valve may not. Sports balls need an appropriate needle and the pressure specified by the ball maker. For an inflatable, confirm that the included adapter matches the actual valve and that the object’s pressure requirements are appropriate for the pump.

The one-power-route description also gives the buying decision a clear boundary: choose this if a 12V vehicle socket is the power source you want during inflation. It does not document an internal rechargeable battery, direct battery clamps, a seven-way trailer auxiliary connector or a 120V wall-power option. If a driver needs to inflate away from a powered vehicle socket, the 1202’s published setup does not resolve that need. If you want a battery-powered model with a preset stop, compare a separately reviewed product whose exact sources establish those capabilities rather than assuming they transfer to the 1202.

Warranty and package details to verify

The feature copy says the unit is backed by a one-year limited warranty, while a separate warranty field on the same product page says warranty information is currently unavailable. That internal inconsistency deserves a check at the point of purchase; the review does not treat the marketing bullet as a resolved warranty term. The listing also labels a generic “tool only” specification despite separately enumerating the cord, fuse, adapters and bag. Read the exact offer’s included-items list and return terms, particularly if the retailer has repackaged the item or substituted an accessory bundle.

In comparison with the CMXPTXA1201, the 1202 is easier to evaluate for cord reach and named bike/ball accessories: the manufacturer spells out a 10-foot vehicle lead, Presta adapter and ball needle. The 1201’s manual copy instead describes an integrated battery, target stop and a 10A minimum for its 12V route, but those facts come from a third-party-hosted manual copy whose cover/model prefix needs confirmation. The 1202 page does not establish those same features; do not transfer them across similar model names.

Bottom line

Consider the CMXPTXA1202 for a straightforward 12V outlet setup where the listed cord length and named Presta and ball accessories fit the intended job. Its advertised 0–36-PSI-in-six-minutes claim lacks the load conditions needed to predict a tire fill, and 150 PSI should not be mistaken for either a target pressure or a performance guarantee. The exact page leaves automatic shutoff, control/display details, socket-current minimum, duty limits, chuck type, gauge accuracy and tire-size capacity unresolved. Confirm the outlet, package, valve fit and warranty terms before buying; set pressure from the vehicle or item maker rather than the inflator’s ceiling.

Source: CRAFTSMAN CMXPTXA1202 product page. The page currently lists a 1-year limited warranty in feature copy but marks the warranty specification unavailable.

Key specifications

Key details at a glance

Product-page maximum-pressure claim150 PSI
Documented accessoriesBall needle / Presta valve adapter / Inflatable adapter / Extra fuse / 10 ft cigarette-lighter cord / Carry bag
Operating power arrangement12V vehicle accessory port

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this review

Sources for this assessment

Match the inflator to your power and tire

Use the finder to check whether a reviewed model's documented power source, mode and accessories fit your requirements. It cannot prove an unlisted fit or predict actual fill time.

In this review