Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Can the 40045 inflate a passenger-car tire from a household outlet?
The exact manual identifies a grounded nominal 120V outlet and says to use 120V outlets only; it does not document 12V, battery or clamp operation. It supports manual inflation to the vehicle maker's target and requires the unit to be removed from its storage bracket and placed on a hard, clean surface. The exact product page and part-specific manual disagree about lever-lock direction, so check the offered head and its instructions.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the 40045 automatically stop at the pressure I select?
No target-pressure automatic stop is documented. The part-specific manual describes turning the on/off switch off when the recommended pressure is reached. Stay with the unit, use the vehicle's cold-pressure specification and verify pressure with a gauge; the mounted dial's 0–100 PSI / 0–7 BAR face does not state an accuracy tolerance or a maximum working pressure.
Explore this need in the finder →Is the four-minute fill claim a reliable estimate for my tire?
It is a manufacturer scenario, not an independent measurement: the 40045 manual ties four minutes to a 205/55R16 tire rising from 0 to 35 PSI. The manual gives 1.5 CFM at 0 PSI, which is not the flow at tire pressure, and does not state a maximum tire size. Another tire or pressure interval may take a different time.
Explore this need in the finder →Can I use the 40045 on a ball or inflatable as well as a tire?
The exact manual labels the accessory set for balls and inflatables and depicts a ball needle. It provides no ball-pressure range or low-pressure accuracy tolerance and warns against overfilling soft items. Follow the ball or inflatable maker's instructions, remain present and observe the 10-minute maximum run and approximately 25-minute cooling interval.
Explore this need in the finder →Is this a useful 12V vehicle-socket inflator?
No. The exact 40045 page and manual document a grounded 120V wall outlet only; the manual says not to use an adapter. The product-record tag 'Twist On Air Hose' is an attachment label, not evidence of a 12V electrical plug. Consider a separately documented 12V model if you need roadside power.
Explore this need in the finder →Slime’s 120V Pro Power Tire Inflator 40045 is best understood as a garage appliance: it needs a grounded household outlet, has a manual on/off switch rather than target-pressure stopping, and stores on a wall bracket that must be removed before use. That is a different job from keeping a compact compressor in a vehicle for roadside top-offs. Its long extension hose and accessory kit make it useful to assess for a home tire-and-inflatable station, but Slime’s quick-fill language remains one manufacturer scenario, not a performance test across tire sizes.
Household power is the defining constraint
The exact 40045 manual identifies a nominal 120V circuit and a grounded plug, directs the user to a properly grounded outlet of the matching configuration, and says not to use an adapter. It calls for a three-wire grounded extension cord if one is needed and recommends 18 AWG for lengths under 50 feet. The exact Slime product page likewise describes a 120V wall outlet. The product record has a “Twist On Air Hose” tag, but that is not a 12V power route; the exact manual and page establish household AC only. Do not buy this version expecting a vehicle accessory plug, battery, clamps, or operation away from an outlet.
The manual also says the wall bracket is for storage only: unclip the inflator, put it on a hard, clean surface, and then operate it. It warns that vehicle exhaust without proper ventilation is dangerous, and calls for a well-ventilated working area away from combustible materials and vapors. This is not a compressor to run while it remains hanging on the wall.
Manual pressure control, not a preset stop
The manual describes an on/off switch: connect the hose, plug in, switch on, watch pressure, and switch off at the tire maker’s recommended target. It does not document automatic stopping when a selected pressure is reached. The mounted dial is specified as a 0–100 PSI / 0–7 BAR scale. That range is the gauge face, not a maximum working-pressure rating, and neither the product page nor manual supplies a gauge-accuracy tolerance. Use the vehicle’s cold-pressure placard or owner’s manual and confirm with a pressure gauge rather than treating the face range as a promise of fit.
Slime lists a four-minute fill from flat to full for a standard tire. The part-specific manual narrows that example to a 205/55R16 tire rising from 0 to 35 PSI. It is a manufacturer claim for that stated setup, not independent timing and not a prediction for a larger tire, another starting pressure, a cold inflator, or repeated inflation. The manual’s 1.5 CFM is explicitly measured at 0 PSI; flow at tire pressure is not stated.
Hose reach and the exact connection need checking
The manual lists a 14.8-foot coiled hose extension and the product page rounds the green extension hose to 15 feet; the page lists a 6-foot power cord. Slime publishes 23.29 feet of total reach on the page, while the manual gives 23.4 feet. Those nearby but nonidentical totals should not be treated as a precision measurement; place the unit where the actual cord and hose can reach without strain. This model has no battery or vehicle cord to extend its placement options.
The exact page calls the tire head a quick-connect and describes pressing it onto the valve before lifting its green lever to lock. The part-40045 manual also depicts a quick-connect pressed onto the valve, but says to push the lever down to lock. The exact product record separately carries a “Twist On Air Hose” tag. These source descriptions disagree about the lever motion and label, so check the head in the offered package and follow the instructions supplied with that exact unit; do not borrow a locking direction from another Slime inflator. The direct connection steps support a press-on tire route, but they do not establish every bicycle-valve fit.
Adapters, heat and storage
The current product page lists a tread-depth gauge, four valve caps, multipurpose air adapters, a plastic storage case, wall bracket and mounting hardware. The part-specific manual illustration labels the accessory group for balls and inflatables, and its product graphic shows a ball needle and tapered nozzle. The manual cautions that soft inflatables may lack pressure markings and must not be overfilled. Follow the item maker’s pressure guidance; a tire gauge scale is not evidence of low-pressure accuracy for a ball or toy. Verify the accessory kit in the exact seller package, because the compressor itself is not a substitute for a missing adapter.
For a car top-off, the manual sets a firm work/rest boundary: never run continuously for more than 10 minutes, let the unit cool about 25 minutes between uses, and never leave it unattended. Keep its inlet and outlet clear. The thermal safeguard is a protection feature, not permission to exceed the run limit. If the priority is a compact roadside setup, no household outlet, automatic target stop, or confirmed long high-volume session, this particular 120V model’s documented configuration does not answer that need.
Assessment and purchase checks
This is a source-based assessment, not a hands-on test. It relies on the exact Slime 40045 product page, the corresponding manufacturer product record, the linked part-specific 120V Pro Power manual and the manufacturer’s exact-model gallery image. Before choosing an offer, confirm part 40045, the grounded 120V plug, included accessories and bracket, the seller’s version of the quick-connect head, and whether a grounded outlet is available where the tire will be serviced. No independent fill measurement, pressure accuracy test, current draw, or maximum tire-size specification is claimed here.
Key specifications
Key details at a glance
| Automatic stop at target | No |
|---|---|
| Documented accessories | 120V grounded wall plug and six-foot power cord / 14.8-foot coiled extension hose / quick-connect tire head; exact locking direction conflicts between page and manual / mounted 0–100 PSI / 0–7 BAR dial gauge / on/off switch and thermal break safeguard / wall-storage bracket and mounting hardware; remove from bracket before use / tread-depth gauge, four valve caps, multipurpose air adapters and plastic storage case |
| Operating power arrangement | 120v grounded household wall outlet |
| Tire-chuck connection style | Press-on tire chuck |
| Power cord length | 6 ft |
| Pressure gauge scale | 100 PSI |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this review
Sources for this assessment
Match the inflator to your power and tire
Use the finder to check whether a reviewed model's documented power source, mode and accessories fit your requirements. It cannot prove an unlisted fit or predict actual fill time.
